If you've just bought a car, or if you've recently moved, you'll need to get your car registered. Fortunately, Car-Registration.org is here to make it easy for you. Our staff has researched the car registration process for every state, so all the information you need is right here at your fingertips. Just select your state and click "Get Started."
The Car Registration Easy Guide™ is an independent value-add to official DMV services, which may be available for free or at an additional charge.
To download a guide specific to your needs, simply select a service and state above or find an official DMV site or local office.
New Vehicle Registration in Florida
How to get a new vehicle registration in Florida
It is a requirement by the law to register any vehicle you have before you can take it on the road. Whether your car is used or new or you bought it from an individual or dealer you will still need to register your car. If your car is registered in another state it will not be legal you will need to register in your current state. When you go to register your vehicle for the first time you can go in person after that your yearly renewals may be done by phone, online or in person.
Registering for the first time:
- Fill out and complete the vehicle title/registration form.
- Bring the completed form to your local tax collectors office along with the vehicle safety inspection certificate. Make sure to bring proof of insurance and the odometer reading if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
- If you registered your vehicle in another state you must also bring the original out-of-state title. If you can't get the title bring the registration document along with proof of sales tax payment.
- You will need to verify the VIN number if you don't have a title.
- If you have misplaced the title you will not be able to register the car. You will have to provide the Bill of Sale or ask the previous owner of the car to replace the title.
- You may register your vehicle for 12 or 24 months plus three months advance registration.
- The fee is different depending on the model year or the vehicle's total weight. Usually, the fee will be between $27.60 and $91.20.
- Title application fee.